For LAS students:

1. Let us remind you about the approaching deadline for Hans Adriaansens Student Awards (HASA) on May 15, 2022. This Year the focus is on (re)building student communities on our campuses. See below.

2. Liberal Arts students are initiating a new Europe-wide student network with the support of ECOLAS. For more info:

Hans Adriaansens Student Awards

Academic community is an essential part of a Liberal Arts and Sciences education. Never has a focus on community been more important to LAS education than in this post-pandemic stage. It is best fostered by students themselves, through student societies, extra-curricular events, workshops and activities engaging people outside the college. The Hans Adriaansens Student Initiative Awards aim to support such projects undertaken by students of European Liberal Arts programmes.

This year, ECOLAS will provide up to six grants of 500 euros each. We are looking for creative, innovative projects and activities that seek to re-build student communities within the Liberal Arts environment. Focus should be on new initiatives or those restored from the pre-pandemic period, carried out by small groups of students or by student organizations.

In September, we will organize an online meeting for the leaders of these projects where they could present and discuss their activities. In addition to the awards, recipients may be invited to participate in an ECOLAS-supported student workshop linking award winners with leaders of the emerging European LAS student network.

The application deadline is May 15, 2022. The winners will be announced on May 31, 2022. Please, send your application to For more information and the application form, see: You are warmly welcome to contact us with any queries.


ECOLAS Executive Board

Samuel Abrahám

Laurent Boetsch

Teun Dekker

ECOLAS (European Consortium of Liberal Arts and Sciences) is a nonprofit organization established for the promotion and support of Liberal Arts in Europe. It was founded in 2009 by Samuel Abrahám (Bratislava), Hans Adriaansens (Middelburg) and Laurent Boetsch (Berlin). It is registered and based in Bratislava, Slovakia.